HOW TO USE TEAMS
Get started with the Interactive Demo. This guided tour of Teams to will explain how to use the app and teach you about key features.
- Use Planner in Microsoft Teams
- Use OneNote Staff Notebook in Teams
- Use Microsoft Teams in the classroom
Download and install Microsoft Teams on all your devices.
- Owners per Team: 100
- Teams a user can create: 250
- Number of members of a Team: 999
- Chat participants: 20
- Meeting participants: 80
Can I create a Team without a group?
You can add a team to an existing group. Creating a new team will also create a group.
What happens when a Team is deleted?
Any content associated with that Team is also deleted. If a deleted Team contains a Plan, these items will also be deleted.
What is the difference between public and private?
All Team content is only visible to members of the team. Private Teams require an invitation to join while public Teams are open for anyone at UAlbany to join.
Can I restrict who has access to email a team?
No, anyone at UAlbany is able to email a team. If you need to control access, please use a mailing list.
Can I delete messages within a channel of a team?
You can only delete individual messages you have posted. Deleting a channel in a team will delete all messages in that channel.
Can I delete messages within the conversations of a team?
You can only delete individual messages you have sent. Team conversation threads cannot be deleted.
What happens when a Team owner's account is removed?
If a team has no owner, members are unable to self-promote a new owner. Please open a Service Desk request to have a new owner appointed.
How do I place an audio or video call?
Many of the calling features in a team require the Teams desktop app.
Can someone outside of UAlbany join my Team?
Yes, you can invite guests to join your team.
How long can I use a team that I create?
A Team will be eligible for deletion one year after its creation. The Team owner will be given multiple opportunities to renew the Team before it is deleted.
Can I archive or restore a team that I created?
Yes, a team can be archived to keep around for reference in a read-only, searchable format and then restored again at later date if it needs to be used again.