Child pages
  • Zoom Settings for Security, Privacy, and Managing Participants in Class Meetings
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Settings for Faculty and Students (Implemented August 17, 2020)

The following settings have been established for all faculty and students in the UAlbany Zoom campus account to minimize the risk of uninvited guests causing disruptions to classes using this platform. Zoom meetings scheduled by faculty and students are subject to the following settings.

Please note the suggested advice for specific uses such as office hours and working with guest speakers or external collaborators as well as options for adjusting your settings below.

Only authenticated users can join meetings

People will be prompted to log in when joining your meetings unless they are already logged in.  This ensures that people who join your meetings are properly identified by their Zoom account.

There are two groups of users for whom you can enable access: UAlbany Users and Anyone with ZoomUAlbany Users is the default profile and when selected will require people to log in with their UAlbany NetID and Password through our single sign-on portal – just like you do now.  If you wish to admit guest(s) to your meeting (someone without an active UAlbany NetID), they would need to log in using their Zoom account.  Additionally, such guests will be held in the Waiting Room until you admit them.  People without a Zoom account of some kind are unable to join your meetings.

Require a password when scheduling new meetings

By default, all meetings will require a password to join.  This is additional and separate from the authentication process described above.

To simplify access to meetings for your invitees, you can embed the password in the meeting URL to avoid the necessity of people having to enter a password to join the meeting.  Do this by going to your Zoom user settings at https://albany.zoom.us and click on the setting Embed password in invite link for one-click join.  Doing this implies that only trusted people will be able to obtain your meeting links that have the password embedded – and remember: everyone must log in their Zoom account to join the meeting (as described above).

Waiting room enforced for guests

All non-UAlbany people will be held in the Waiting Room until you admit them manually.  If you invite a guest to join your meeting, be prepared to look for them in the Waiting Room and admit them.  Do this by clicking the Participants button in the meeting which displays a list of users in the meeting as well as those in the Waiting Room.

People who log in with UAlbany NetID/Password will bypass the Waiting Room and be automatically admitted to the meeting. It is important that people log in using the SSO option to be correctly identified:

Join before host not allowed

If anyone joins your meeting before you, including UAlbany authenticated people, they will be informed that the meeting will start after you join.  Once you join, UAlbany authenticated people will be automatically admitted while guests will be held in the Waiting Room.

Dial-in Participants

People who join your meeting by phone will need to enter a numeric code to join.  This passcode is provided in the invitation that you send and also within the meeting for users who join via the computer.

It is best for users to first join the meeting on a computer or device app first and then dial-in for audio because they can link their phone number to their Participant ID for a better experience.  People who are not able to join the meeting on a computer or device app, will be identified in the meeting by a phone number and they will be held in the Waiting Room until you admit them.  If you expect people to join your meeting via dial-in only, be sure to note their phone number in advance so you admit the right individual to the meeting.

Adjust settings to enable the tools you need

ITS has established default settings that leave some tools disabled by default to maximize security.  You can adjust some of these settings to enable the tools you need.

  • Screen Sharing is enabled for the meeting host only.  You can adjust this setting to let you enable it for your students when needed.
  • Whiteboard is disabled for all.  To enable this tool, you need to adjust your User Settings.  Then, all meeting participants will be able to use the Whiteboard and you can retract this permission during your meetings.
  • Annotation is disabled for all.  To enable this tool, you need to adjust your User Settings.  Then, all meeting participants will be able to use the Annotation features and you can retract this permission during your meetings.
  • File Sharing is enabled.  If you disable this tool, student cannot share files through the Chat window.
  • Chat and Private Chat is enabled.  Consider your and students' needs for these features.