Child pages
  • Recovering Deleted Items in UAlbany Mail
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You can recover items you delete from your UAlbany Mail account. 

What happens when I delete an item?

When you delete an item, it gets moved to your Deleted Items folder where it will remain unless acted on by you (or a delegate you have designated) or a mail rule. Deleted items remain in this folder indefinitely until you empty that folder.

Can I recover items I have deleted?

If you have deleted an item but have not yet emptied your Deleted Items folder, you can recover that item directly from the Deleted Items folder. To do this, open your Deleted Items folder and drag the item back where you would like it to be.

What happens after I empty my Deleted Items folder?

You can empty your Deleted Items folder, which will purge all of its contents, by right-clicking on the folder and choosing "Delete all".

Once you have emptied your Deleted Items folder, you will still be able to recover the purged items for up to two weeks. You can do this from Outlook or from Outlook Web App (OWA). 

Once deleted email expires from the Recover Deleted Items space (described below) after 14 days, there is nothing that can be done to retrieve it. There are no system backups of that mail.


Instructions for recovering deleted emails in Outlook on the web (OWA)