Microsoft Teams Frequently Asked Questions
What do I need to know about the switch from Skype for Business to Teams?
Review Microsoft's article comparing the two services here.
How do I create a new Team in Teams?
On the left side of Teams, click Teams. Then, at the bottom of the teams list, click Join or create a team, and then click Create team.
What kind of Team should I create?
You can choose from 4 Team types when creating a new Team. Generally, the "Other" type is most commonly used. Please see Microsoft's descriptions of the types for more information.
Can I create a Team without a group?
You can add a team to an existing group. Creating a new team will also create a group.
What happens when a Team is deleted?
Any content associated with that Team is also deleted. If a deleted Team contains a Plan, these items will also be deleted.
What is the difference between public and private?
All Team content is only visible to members of the team. Private Teams require an invitation to join while public Teams are open for anyone at UAlbany to join. ITS recommends creating Private teams in most cases.
Can I restrict who has access to email a team?
No, anyone at UAlbany is able to email a team. If you need to control access, please use a mailing list.
Can I delete messages within a channel of a team?
You can only delete individual messages you have posted. Deleting a channel in a team will delete all messages in that channel.
Can I delete messages within the conversations of a team?
You can only delete individual messages you have sent. Team conversation threads cannot be deleted.
What happens when a Team owner's account is removed?
If a team has no owner, members are unable to self-promote a new owner. Please open a Service Desk request to have a new owner appointed.
How do I place an audio or video call?
Many of the calling features in a team require the Teams desktop app.
Can someone outside of UAlbany join my Team?
Yes, you can invite guests to join your team.
How long can I use a team that I create?
A Team will be eligible for deletion one year after its creation. The Team owner will be given multiple opportunities to renew the Team before it is deleted.
A Team that is actively in use is renewed automatically. Any of the following actions will auto-renew a Team:
- SharePoint - view, edit, download, move, share, or upload files.
- Outlook - join group, read or write group message from the group, and like a message (Outlook on the web).
- Teams - visiting a teams channel.
For more information, see the Microsoft Teams Lifecycle.
Can I archive or restore a team that I created?
Yes, a team can be archived to keep around for reference in a read-only, searchable format and then restored again at later date if it needs to be used again.
I accidentally deleted my Team - can it be recovered?
In cases where a Team has been deleted and needs to be recovered, requests to the ITS Service Desk must be submitted within 25 calendar days of deletion.
What other tools is Teams similar to?
Teams offers much of same functionality as Slack. (ITS does not support or provide Slack.)
Need more help? Submit an ITS Service Desk Request.