In accordance with the UAlbany ITS Policy for Blackboard Course and Data Retention ITS will delete courses associated with semesters prior to spring 2017. These courses will be deleted in batches on a schedule as described below and will NOT be backed up or archived by ITS. You should archive, download, and store your course development packages NOW.
Batch Deletion Schedule
All scheduled semester courses in the following terms will be deleted from Blackboard by December 31, 2020.
- Winter 2014
- Spring 2014
- Summer 2014
- Fall 2014
- Winter 2015
- Spring 2015
- Summer 2015
- Fall 2015
- Winter 2016
- Spring 2016
- Summer 2016
- Fall 2016
- Winter 2017
The following FAQ intend to clarify questions about this process.
How do I archive my Blackboard course?
How can I keep my Blackboard course?
You should archive the course and download the ZIP package for storage on your computer or other local drive in case you wish to use it in the future.
How can I keep activities I have created in my Blackboard course that I want to use in the future, like assignments, discussion forums, tests, or other Blackboard items?
Archive the course. These items will be available in the downloadable ZIP package for import or restore in a future course. You could copy or transfer these items into a scheduled semester course where they are needed. Here they would remain until you need to copy them into a new course iteration.
Tip: DON’T OPEN THE ZIP PACKAGE.
I stored files in the content folder of my Blackboard course development. How can I keep these easily available outside of a course archive ZIP package?
You can download/move files in the course content folder to store them elsewhere, such as your computer, OneDrive, or your personal folder in the Blackboard Content System.
- If you have links in an active Blackboard course to files in the content folder of a course to be deleted, those links will be broken once the hosting course has been deleted. In this case, you should fix the links by copying the linked file to the content folder of the active course and re-link the file where it is needed in the active course.
- The storage capacity of your personal Blackboard content folder is 500 MB.
How can I access or restore my archived course?
Once you download a course archive ZIP package, you should maintain an undisturbed copy (don't open the ZIP folder) that can later be imported or restored into the Blackboard system. You are able to import the package into a course in which you are enrolled as Instructor. ITS can restore the course as-is when necessary.
If you download just the course contents in a ZIP package, as described above, then you can unpack or otherwise open the ZIP folder to be able to access the files contained.
What is a “scheduled semester course?”
Every semester a course is automatically created on Blackboard for each class section on the Schedule of Classes; these are scheduled semester courses.
Why does ITS need to delete Blackboard courses?
Over years of use, the content system and database can become bloated with data and files, much of which is no longer used or needed. It is prudent to pare down the data and content that is stored in Blackboard in order to maintain the health of the system and ensure it remains stable and reliable for our faculty, staff, and students.
Repository of Communication About This Action: